• Home
  • News
  • Cancer Achievement Award for Professor Grant McArthur
Back to all 2017
06 Jul 2017

Cancer Achievement Award for Professor Grant McArthur

  • Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre
  • Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
  • Medical Oncology Group of Australia

Our very own Executive Director, Professor Grant McArthur, has been named the 2017 winner of the Medical Oncology Group of Australia (MOGA) – Novartis Oncology Cancer Achievement Award.

Best known for his world leading work in the research and treatment of melanoma - which continues in his ongoing role at Peter McCallum Cancer Centre - Professor McArthur has been recognised for his ‘outstanding contribution to medical oncology in Australia’. He joins a distinguished list of cancer luminaries including 2006 Australian of the Year, Professor Ian Frazer.

Announcing the award, MOGA Chairman, Associate Professor Chris Karapetis, noted Professor McArthur’s work had contributed to improvements in the treatment of cancer and patient outcomes in Australia and internationally.

Chair of the VCCC, Prof Linda Kristjanson AO commented that Professor McArthur's leadership in cancer treatment, advocacy for patients, mentorship to the next generation of cancer researchers and clinicians and his commitment to improved policies to prevent cancer are recognised by this prestigious award. "We are most fortunate to have his leadership of the VCCC and take vicarious pride his important achievements," she said.

Professor McArthur will deliver the 2017 Cancer Achievement Presentation at MOGA’s Annual Scientific Meeting on Thursday 3 August at the Albert Park Pullman Hotel in Melbourne.

For further information, see the MOGA media release.